2017 Fiesta 5K Ole Run: Sidestepped all the potholes!

Yours truly crossing the finish line. Hayley took this picture

Yours truly crossing the finish line. Hayley took this picture

The city of Seattle was planning in late April or May to conduct what it calls a “Pothole Palooza” — a 10-day public works campaign to patch all the potholes and re-pave crumbled streets reported throughout the city.

Runners at the starting line included one carrying a big plastic Corona bottle on his back

Runners at the starting line included one carrying a big plastic Corona bottle on his back

It appears that street crews haven’t yet reached the Capitol Hill neighborhood around Volunteer Park. I still hope they can do so in 2017.

More than 1,000 people ran the 2017 Fiesta 5K Ole Run last Saturday (May 6) and most expended much energy dodging all of the potholes and weather-damaged streets on the course. I noticed the pothole problem last year when I first did the run, and was hoping the city’s patch campaign would help improve the streets. Not yet. But maybe for next year’s run. We’ll see.

This is otherwise a fun race — I just want it to be safe too. Until they fix these streets, many of us are a misstep or two away from a serious face-plant.

Dry weather, tacos, beer and hard rock

The good news is I was able to get through this crowded run and hilly course without any missteps. The result was a good workout and a good time running with a pair of my co-workers at Allytics, Hayley Halstead and Michelle Garcia. Dry weather predominated too,  after it had rained a lot the preceding night.

And even though I had just one free beer (a cherry-flavored Bud Light) and watched others eat, it was a nice vibe being around the dozen or so taco trucks, the busy beer garden, the young, energetic crowd, and the loud but nicely harmonic hard-rock trio. The Taco Truck Challenge is a big part of this event — many people skip the run and show up for the tacos and beer.

Michelle Garcia crosses the finish line just ahead of me. Hayley got this shot too

Michelle Garcia crosses the finish line just ahead of me. Hayley got this shot too

The only thing missing was Macklemore; I didn’t spot him in the starting line, as I did a year ago in my first time running this race.

I should add that the overall turnout was about 500 runners and walkers less than in 2016, which I chock up to the threat of rain. Last year’s run featured blue skies and sun.

Don't know the name of the band, but it was decent

Don’t know the name of the band, but it was decent

Still, this event always has a Cinco de Mayo theme and is popular with millennials, both because of the Capitol Hill location and because of the opportunity to get every type of taco imaginable — Korean and Vietnamese food tacos, for example. I am not sure if the fruit-flavored Bud Lights are a draw or not. (Hayley ordered a shrimp taco with grits; the truck was out of grits, but she liked her shrimp taco.)

In keeping with the theme, I saw several runners wearing sombreros during the race. One runner ran with a huge plastic bottle of Corona strapped to his back.

Slower time than last year, but strong finish

Boring guy that I am, I ran my regular running clothes, and did not partake in the food. I handled the two relatively steep hills on the course as best as I could, avoided all the potholes (as I said) and finished in 38:30 (12:25 per mile). The last hill came just before the finish line, but I powered up and over it, crossing the finish line fairly close behind both Hayley and Michelle. However, I came in 40 seconds slower than my time a year ago. Oh well. Full results are here.

This was my fifth road run of 2017 and my 210th overall.

I couldn't get a picture of Hayley running the race, because she ran ahead of me. Here she is afterward

I couldn’t get a picture of Hayley running the race, because she ran ahead of me. Here she is afterward

Congrats to Hayley and Michelle on their races! Also, a shout out to runner friends Mark Nelson for completing the Vancouver Marathon and Jen Gaudette the Vancouver Half Marathon the same weekend. The big Bloomsday 12K Run in Spokane and the Eugene Marathon also was last weekend — a big weekend for Northwest running.

One of the more popular taco trucks

One of the more popular taco trucks

I move from running to bicycling now, unless I get talked into the Beat the Bridge 8K Run on May 21. As I said last time, I am signed up for the Emerald City Bike Ride through Seattle on May 27, the 7 Hills of Kirkland two days later on Memorial Day, and the Flying Wheels Summer Century on June 10.

Got to do some training rides up ahead to get ready.

Thanks, as always, for reading. Till next time.

About monteenbysk

I am not an elite runner or bicyclist, though I am friends with many. I run, walk, and bike for fun and the health benefits. I can get you to the finish but probably not to the Boston Marathon (and especially not to the Tour de France).
This entry was posted in 5K, 7 Hills of Kirkland, Bicycling, Century, Eugene Marathon, Flying Wheels, Marathons, Running, Vancouver Marathon and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

