2016 Seattle Rivalry Clash 10K: A colorful but timeless event for most

Huskies, Cougars and Seahawks get loosened up before the races

Huskies, Cougars and Seahawks fans get loosened up before the races

The Dawg Dash 5K/10K, where you run with purple-clad people around the University of Washington campus, typically takes place this past weekend in late October. But I’ve done that race seven times, and the Huskies annihilated my Ducks in Eugene a few weeks ago. So I wanted to try something different this year.

This guy painted on a Ben Roethlisberger jersey.

This guy painted on a Ben Roethlisberger jersey

Instead, I ran the Seattle Rivalry Clash 10K on the Eastside last Sunday (Oct. 23), where all I saw was not purple. This is a newer race, in its fourth year, and previously was known as the Husky-Cougar Rivalry Clash. It started out as a 5K only, but has since added 10K and half-marathon runs.

Indeed, there are generous numbers of Husky and Cougar fans, but there were probably more Cougars in 2016. The race was renamed this year to encourage more Seahawks and Sounders boosters, plus runners who went to other colleges. I wore Seahawk blue.

Despite all the colorful outfits, the finishers’ medals, the flat course on the Sammamish River Trail, and the fun environment at Redhook Ale Brewery in Woodinville, where the races started and ended, this event still has some bugs to work out.

Specifically, the New Age timing chips — on magnetic duct tape pasted to the back of runners’ bibs — were faulty. The vast majority of participants, myself included, did not get race times.

Husky No. 7 dances across the finish line

Husky fan No. 7 dances across the finish line

To be specific, only 38 of 248 5K finishers, 12 of 128 10K finishers, and eight of 62 half-marathon finishers got their times recorded — i.e., the chips on their bib worked. The partial results are posted here.

My post-surgery PR not official

For those who don’t do races, this probably sounds like a small matter. And I wouldn’t call it a YUGE deal either. However, I believe I ran my best post-ankle surgery 10K time.

The finishers' medals were shaped as a beer mug

The finishers’ medals were shaped as a beer mug

Why I think that is because I used the MapMyRun app on my mobile phone to gauge my time and distance for this 10K. But I had to start the app before crossing the starting line, to get my phone back in my fanny pack so I could run. And I couldn’t stop until well after I crossed the finish line, because I had to get it out of my fanny pack and then sign in to my phone. I am estimating that 30 seconds elapsed before and after the race while I was packing away my phone and then retrieving it.

A top half-marathon finisher crosses the line

A top half-marathon finisher crosses the line

So I am counting my time as 1:16:48 (12:22 per mile), 10 seconds faster than my previous post-surgery best of 1:16:58 (12:23 per mile) at the Seattle Marathon 10K in August. (My 10K PR is 51:44 at the Dawg Dash in 2004.) The time on my MapMyRun app was 1:17:18, so I reduced it by the 30 seconds I mentioned.

Officially, we’ll never know. But the faster time for me makes sense because the course was largely flat and straight. (Also, my MapMyRun app listed the race distance at 6.13 miles, rather than 62 miles. I hope that was an error.)

‘Really embarrassing,” says event director

Let me give a shout out to the event director, James Addison, who apologized to me in an email after I asked when the times would be posted.

Finishers enjoy a beer in the Redhook parking lot

Finishers enjoy a beer in the Redhook parking lot

It’s really embarrassing to post the results when we were only able to pick up” about 10 percent of the runners’ times, he said. “I’m really frustrated and getting to the bottom of this technology, and apologize profusely about our timing fiasco. Going forward, I’m confident that using an outside timing company who specializes in timing will be the way to go.”

I thanked him for explaining that taped chip on the bib didn’t do its job. I’ve also decided I will do this run again, because they’ll use different vendor next year and won’t allow such a timing-chip snafu to happen again.

Congrats, tips, and what’s next

Facebook friend Joyce Szymanski continued her quest to do a race a month for 2016, by running the 5K event at the Rivalry Clash. Congrats, Joyce! Ten down, two to go. She, too, did not get a time.

The finisher's shirt

The finisher’s shirt

Because all three races in this event are run almost entirely on the Sammamish River Trail between Woodinville and Redmond, the tips I would offer are similar to those I mentioned in my post about the Redmond Derby Dash 5K run in August. Check it out. Truth be told, however, on a Sunday morning in October, the bicycle traffic to watch out for is much less threatening than in August.

This was my 13th race this year and 202nd overall, since 2001. Next, I’m eager to join some Allytics teammates in running the Mustache Dache 5K on November 6. This is where I got my post-surgery 5K best time in 2014; I got sick and was unable to run it last year.

Due to vacation plans, I likely will not do the Seattle Marathon or Half-Marathon this year; I done either of these races in 13 of the last 14 years.

Thanks for reading! Till next time.

About monteenbysk

I am not an elite runner or bicyclist, though I am friends with many. I run, walk, and bike for fun and the health benefits. I can get you to the finish but probably not to the Boston Marathon (and especially not to the Tour de France).
This entry was posted in 10K, 5K, Mustache Dache, Running, Sammamish River Trail, Seattle Marathon and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2016 Seattle Rivalry Clash 10K: A colorful but timeless event for most

  1. Pingback: 2017 Valentine’s Day Dash 10K: New 10K has limited appeal to Green Lake set | Monte's running commentary

Leave a Reply

