2014 Run with the Fishes: Last warm-weather run of the year

FishesRun1I started this post just after doing the Issaquah Run with the Fishes on Oct. 5. But finishing it fell to the backburner until after a trip my wife Liz and I took to New York to, among other things, see our daughter Molly. Just getting it done now.

The first weekend of October has always seemed a safe time for a road run. For a couple of years, I did the Portland Marathon on this weekend. These days, I’ve been regularly doing a run in Issaquah. Previously it was called the Issaquah Salmon Days Run, but in 2013, the name was changed — for reasons I am not aware of — to the Issaquah Run with the Fishes.

FishesRun5Also, the Salmon Days run had a 10K that I regularly did. But that’s OK. The name change and the switch to a 5K-only event is fine with me. It remains a flat course, a family event, and a run for all ages with a real community flavor. Oh, and the weather never seems to disappoint: moderate temperatures and dry, sunny skies.

With my last organized bike ride of 2014 a week earlier, and the start of a new job at Allytics that next day, I had very little time to run or train for this race. It probably wouldn’t have mattered. I ran for my third-best 5K time for 2014 (out of six races at the 3.1-mile distance) of 36:48 (11:52 per mile), and it was as good as I could expect. Full results are here.

FishesRun9The only regret is that this loop in and around Gilman Boulevard and Front Street in Issaquah is extremely FLAT. If ever I was to break any speed records, it would have to happen here. Alas, the only records I am likely to break anymore are made of vinyl.

But I continue to enjoy running, despite a bad left ankle that forces me to run gingerly and with a bit of a limp. This was 11th road run of the year and my 172nd overall since 2001. While I’ve run 21 marathons and 33 half-marathons, I estimate my 5K total to be well more than 70 and growing. For someone who limits running to one day a week to preserve his ankle (I walk most every other day), 5Ks are the most favorable distance to tackle.

FishesRun6What’s next? I have a few runs I always do to end the year, including the Seattle Half-Marathon and the 12Ks of Christmas in Kirkland. I’ll probably do the Mustache Dache 5K again too — maybe my former Zones colleagues will do it with me again in 2014.

Oh, and I’m not doing the Dawg Dash this year. I will be at the Duck-Husky game in Eugene this weekend.

Thanks for reading. Till next time.

About monteenbysk

I am not an elite runner or bicyclist, though I am friends with many. I run, walk, and bike for fun and the health benefits. I can get you to the finish but probably not to the Boston Marathon (and especially not to the Tour de France).
This entry was posted in 12Ks of Christmas, 5K, Bicycling, Marathons, Running, Seattle Marathon, Walking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2014 Run with the Fishes: Last warm-weather run of the year

  1. Pingback: 2015 Issaquah Run with the Fishes 5K: Popular run that organizers would like to keep small | Monte's running commentary

  2. Pingback: 2016 Issaquah Run with the Fishes 5K: Runs help me cope with dreadful Duck football season | Monte's running commentary

Leave a Reply

