2014 Seahawk 12K/5K Run: Seahawk pride out in force!

Start of Seahawk 12k

Photo by Jordan Stead of SeattlePI.com

The Seahawk 12K/5K Run is one I’d been waiting for, coming 10 weeks after the Seahawks thrilled Seattle and Washington state by winning the Super Bowl for the first time ever.

In 2013, I wrote about these two races (12K and 5K) through Renton drawing more than 4,000 runners. This year, the turnout was for the two events was double that number, with 8,000-plus runners forming a sea of blue and green in their Seahawk garb. It was great to hear runners chanting “Sea-Hawks, Sea-Hawks,” at the starting line, to see the SeaGals on hand, and to have former Seahawk fullback Mac Strong do the race countdown and then jump in and run the 5K himself.

Me runningWhile I enjoyed the race, my bad (left) ankle had been sore and swollen in the days leading up to the run. So I struggled through the run, but accomplished the only goal I had for it: Beat last year’s time. I finished in 38:35 (a 12:27 per mile pace), a tad better than last year’s 39:15 (12:40 per mile). Full results are here.

This was a race I usually want to run much faster, because the 5K is a flat course that loops around The Landing retail and restaurant center. But my ankle wasn’t up to it. Also, the course was crowded and there were numerous narrow spots where I had to weave around walkers and runners even slower than me. Plus, I probably fiddled with my headphones too much, because I wasn’t always getting the high-energy rock music I need while running.

The 12K course begins and ends at The Landing, but ventures up along Lake Washington Boulevard to the Seahawks’ team headquarters at the Virginia Mason Athletic Center (VMAC) in north Renton. It’s a hillier course along the lake, but I plan to do it next year.

Some 4,051 runners finished the 12K and 4,014 the 5K — 8,064 total, compared to a combined 4,084 for both races in 2013. If we win a second straight Super Bowl early next year, I wouldn’t be surprised if the number doubles again.

Congrats to several friends

Boyd and Jaime Massie and me

Boyd and Jaime Massie and me

It was great to see Zones teammate Jaime Massie and her husband Boyd, and to meet her mother Terri Luhn, at the post-race festivities. Her mom declined to be in the picture at right. But mother and daughter had a good run in the 5K (both beat me), and Boyd ran under 7:00 per mile for an excellent finish in the 12K.

Congrats also to Microsoft friend Cindy Mueller and former Zones teammate Tyra Nelson and her husband Mark for their 12K finishes.

What’s next? Six days after this run, I did another 4.5-mile training run today, but made it a point to rest my ankle a couple of days this past week. I am hoping there is more dry weather ahead to I can train for a couple of bicycle rides in late May — 7 Wheels of Kirkland and the Flying Wheels 100-mile ride.

Me with the shirtThere are so many runs I could do in late April, May and June, but I’m not sure. I’m toying with the idea of doing my 22nd marathon in June, the Rock ‘n’ Roll Seattle Marathon, but we’ll see. My ankle may not like that idea.

Thanks for reading. Till next time.

About monteenbysk

I am not an elite runner or bicyclist, though I am friends with many. I run, walk, and bike for fun and the health benefits. I can get you to the finish but probably not to the Boston Marathon (and especially not to the Tour de France).
This entry was posted in 5K, 7 Hills of Kirkland, Bicycling, Century, Flying Wheels, Marathons, Rock 'n Roll Seattle Marathon, Running, Seahawks 12K Run and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2014 Seahawk 12K/5K Run: Seahawk pride out in force!

  1. Pingback: 2015 Mercer Island Half-Marathon: I walked the talk and ran the Run | Monte's running commentary

  2. Pingback: 2015 Seahawks 12K Run: Has this event gotten too big for Renton? | Monte's running commentary

  3. Pingback: 2016 Seahawks 12K Run: Fewer people show for this spirited, warm weather run | Monte's running commentary

Leave a Reply

