2013 Mercer Island Half Marathon: 150th race without a DNF

Mercer Island HalfOther than it was my 150th race since 2001, all without a Did Not Finish (DNF), there isn’t a whole lot to say about this road run. I did the Mercer Island Half Marathon Walk on March 24, just as I have the last two years, and ran between five and six miles of it — which is probably more running than either of the previous two years of having ankle trouble.

It was the 10th year overall that I have done the Mercer Island Half (I did the Run for seven years from 2003-2010). A year ago after doing this event, I posted that I did not train very well for my half-marathon No. 30, and would train better for No. 31. I lied.

This was my 31st half-marathon overall, and I did not train any better than last year. There is something about doing this race a week after doing the St. Patrick’s Day Dash that leads you into a false sense of security that you are trained and ready. But just because I had my best time (per-mile-pace-wise) since my August 2011 surgery at the 2013 St. Patty’s Day run, doesn’t mean I was ready for this year’s Mercer Island Half.

I found that out. I actually beat my last year’s Mercer Island Half time by 25 minutes, and was able to run most of the final 5K. But I was beat. And I’ve spent the past week in recovery mode and barely avoiding a cold.

Mercer Island Half medalAt any rate, I slogged through it, and finished in 3:21:00, a 15:21 per mile pace. Hey, that’s better than 3:46:56 a year ago. But it was seven minutes slower than my 3:14:39 of 2011. My best time for this event is 1:57 in 2004, my second time ever doing it. Full results for 2013 are here.

Highlights of this race were just a few:

  • The weather was great: sunny but not too hot, and dry.
  • The overall race winner, Uli Steidl, won in 1:08:24, one second better than his time in 2012. This year, he passed me near Mile 9, whereas last year it was near Mile 8. Progress.
  • I continue to be impressed with how well-organized this event is, and with all of the food and drinks they provide at the finish line. And, unlike some of my bicycle races, it’s free.

Next up for me is either the Bellevue 10K or 5K on April 28, and maybe the Seahawks 12K Run (or 5K) on April 21. I will do at least one of those events, and continue training for bicycle races in May and June. I am hoping to be ready for the Flying Wheels 100-mile ride on June 8.

Thanks for reading this lackluster post! Till next time.

About monteenbysk

I am not an elite runner or bicyclist, though I am friends with many. I run, walk, and bike for fun and the health benefits. I can get you to the finish but probably not to the Boston Marathon (and especially not to the Tour de France).
This entry was posted in 5K, Bicycling, Flying Wheels, Mercer Island Half-Marathon, Running, St. Patrick's Day Dash, Walking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2013 Mercer Island Half Marathon: 150th race without a DNF

  1. Pingback: 2013 Seattle Half Marathon: Half the euphoria (and pain) of doing a marathon | Monte's running commentary

  2. Pingback: 2016 Mercer Island Half-Marathon: Modest improvement but still back of the pack | Monte's running commentary

Leave a Reply

