Marathon tuneup: My Green Lake Gobble 10K walk becomes walk/run

Green Lake Gobble 5K-10K

It may have been risky running on my bad ankle, but I ended up running about half of the Green Lake Gobble 10K in north Seattle last Sunday. By doing so, I was able to keep up with some of the faster walkers, and finish in a 15:03 mile pace, something I could not do by simply walking. The running, even if it was awkward and rush-hour slow, felt good.

Will it help me get through this Sunday’s Seattle Marathon Walk any faster? I can only hope. Though the weather forecast suggests Sunday could be a dry day, or at least one without a steady downpour, the marathon is going to take seven or eight hours. My goal is only to finish it, in one piece.

There certainly was a downpour at the start of last Sunday’s Thanksgiving-themed 5K and 10K races. Fortunately, it let up after a mile or so. But because of the damp weather, it seemed, fewer people came to the event in turkey, pilgrim and other festive outfits.

People do like their races at Green Lake, however. Some 1,150 finished the 5K and 10K races altogether, a decent turnout for a cold, rainy Sunday in November, at an event in only its second year (I believe) of existence. The 5K had 808 finishers and the 10K had 344, with very few walkers in the 10K. Full results are here.

I must add that this event also included the Mashed Potato Munch Off, a competitive eating event that I must have missed. I saw no signs of mashed potatoes or competitive eating in the finishers’ area when I finished, but it was being held somewhere nearby.

New Asics are a big help

The course for the 10K was one lap around Green Lake mostly on the outer streets and a second lap on the inner lake trail, with a hairpin side turn in the last mile to make the distance a full 6.2 miles. I ran mostly on the gravel paths next to the streets and trail to avoid too much impact on my left ankle. My new Asics are greatly helping cushion the shock to my ankle when I run (so I am saving them for races, as much as I can).

My 5K splits were fairly even, 45 and 47 minutes (official time: 1:33.22). It was the first 10K I’ve done since my ankle injury, and, of course, my worst time. My previous worst was 1:05 in 2010; my PR for this distance is 51:44 (Dawg Dash 10K in 2004).

This week has been my version of a taper for a marathon walk. I’ve done short walks (1-3 miles) each day until today (Thanksgiving Day), but will try to stay off my legs the next two days. It’s a good excuse to watch football (Go Ducks!).

Sunday’s marathon will be No. 21 and possibly my last; we’ll see. It also will be my 145th race overall since 2001. Looking forward to crossing the finish line at Memorial Stadium (and hoping they won’t have taken it down by the time I do!).

Thanks for reading. Till next time.

About monteenbysk

I am not an elite runner or bicyclist, though I am friends with many. I run, walk, and bike for fun and the health benefits. I can get you to the finish but probably not to the Boston Marathon (and especially not to the Tour de France).
This entry was posted in 10K, 5K, Marathons, Running, Seattle Marathon, Walking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Marathon tuneup: My Green Lake Gobble 10K walk becomes walk/run

  1. Pingback: 2014 Bellevue 10K Run: A chance to get reacquainted with the 10K | Monte's running commentary

Leave a Reply

