Training for a marathon walk is super exciting — NOT!

All right, it’s crazy time again. Time when I ask yourself, “Why am I doing this?”

I miss running so much, and it’s getting too cold for bicycling, so I am training for a marathon walk. No rational person trains for a marathon walk. No rational person does a marathon walk. But, as I said, I am training for doing a marathon walk on Nov. 25 — the Seattle Marathon Walk. It will take me at least eight hours to walk it all, with no break for lunch.

My left ankle is not happy about any of this. But I walked 16.5 miles last Sunday to get my training in gear. I have been walking a bit late in my day outside my workplace, but that is 1-2 miles at a time. (I’ve also been attending my company’s weekly Boot Camp of mostly core exercises.) To get really ready, I need at least three walks of more than 15 miles.

Trust me, walking is much more boring than running. I’m not fantasizing being on stage playing the drums for Gwen Stefani and No Doubt when I walk; those are my running rock n’ roll fantasies. When I walk, I mostly just think about how uncool it is to want to walk 26.2 miles.

Before my ankle deteriorated, I ran marathons (and half-marathons, and 12Ks, 10Ks, 8Ks and 5Ks). Marathons No. 18 and 19 were on the damaged ankle, and I probably shouldn’t have done them. I mostly walked marathon No. 20, in late 2010, but still could jog about three miles or so of it. My running is so slow and awkward now that I am likely to be better off not trying to run at all, and walking the whole thing as fast as I can.

Enough of the whining. I have two more long walks, and probably a 5K walk such as the Get Your Rear In Gear on Nov. 4 at Marymoor Park as a tuneup. The marathon walk will be more physically challenging than my century bike ride, and probably 10 times more boring. Onward!

Thanks for reading. Till next time.

About monteenbysk

I am not an elite runner or bicyclist, though I am friends with many. I run, walk, and bike for fun and the health benefits. I can get you to the finish but probably not to the Boston Marathon (and especially not to the Tour de France).
This entry was posted in 5K, Bicycling, Marathons, Running, Seattle Marathon, Uncategorized, Walking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

