7 Hills of Kirkland hillier than Chilly Hilly? We’ll see

I’m looking forward to doing the 7 Hills of Kirkland bicycle ride on Memorial Day, my fourth bicycle event since I started riding again last June. I’m not sure what to expect from the 40-mile course I am doing Monday, but the name of the event is daunting enough.

The seven hills to conquer are those I have driven up many times. Now I need to see how I do riding up them. Total climbing elevation for the course is 3,023 feet, compared to 2,700 feet for the Chilly Hilly (33 miles) ride on Bainbridge Island, which I did in February. Looks like I’ll be doing some climbing Monday; I certainly did some in the Chilly Hilly.

The 40-mile course is the shortest of the 7 Hills event. There’s also century and 100K (62 miles) rides, and I originally wanted to do the 100K. But too many things got in the way to allow me to train enough for a longer ride. (Maybe it’s a blessing in disguise.) As it was, I’ve been riding 40 to 50 miles a week outdoors and another 10-15 miles on my stationary bike (I’ve been doing a little bit of walking and running too, but mostly riding since I did the Mercer Island Half-Marathon in late March).

So I think I’m ready, but the hills will still be challenging.

Also, Monday night, after the ride, I’m attending the premiere in Seattle of “The Long Ride Home.” This is a documentary about my friends Kevin Mincio and Matt Sauri, who rode bicycles across the United States last summer and fall to raise money for families of fallen soldiers. I wrote about their ride in articles for the Microsoft Alumni Foundation (Matt’s company, Wimmer Solutions, is a foundation sponsor), and re-tweeted all of their posts during their long, hard, 95-day ride.

I’m excited to see this documentary; Kevin and Matt have inspired me with their incredible 4,200-mile journey from Santa Rosa, Calif., to Ground Zero in New York. I followed it very closely, and was able to interview them during their ride when they hit Gettysburg, Pa., and were gearing up for their home stretch.

This documentary is being shown as part of the 2012 Seattle International Film Festival that runs for several weeks. I am honored to have been invited to the premiere.

Meanwhile, I am hoping I have enough tank in the gas after Monday to do the Flying Wheels ride in east King County on June 9 (ideally, the 65-mile ride). I am targeting the Tour de Peaks in the Snoqualmie Valley in August as my first century.

Thanks for reading. Till next time.

About monteenbysk

I am not an elite runner or bicyclist, though I am friends with many. I run, walk, and bike for fun and the health benefits. I can get you to the finish but probably not to the Boston Marathon (and especially not to the Tour de France).
This entry was posted in 7 Hills of Kirkland, Bicycling, Chilly Hilly, Flying Wheels, Mercer Island Half-Marathon, Running, Tour de Peaks, Walking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 7 Hills of Kirkland hillier than Chilly Hilly? We’ll see

  1. Pingback: 7 Hills of Kirkland: Where’s the end of this $^%#@! hill? | Monte's running commentary

Leave a Reply

