So I had my ankle surgery — what’s next?

Many if not all of you are probably sick of reading about my ankle by now. So I will try to keep this short.

I had my minor “scoping” surgery Friday, done on my left ankle by Dr. Anthony Lo at the Minor & James Medical Clinic in downtown Seattle. Dr. Lo told my wife Liz that he had to do more “clean-up” work on it than expected; there was just a larger amout of scar tissue and other junk making my ankle swell.

Interestingly enough, my manager for the Xbox.com Online Support group at Microsoft, Tony Ashton, remarked just the day before in a meeting when looking down at my ankle, “Please tell me you are wearing a brace on it right now.” Well, I wasn’t. There was just a lot of bone spurs and other “ankle waste” built up in there.

Following yesterday’s surgery, I dined on pain pills and water and slept most of the rest of the day. Today, I am still on pain pills, but doing a bit of caffeine to stay awake better. I am not in any serious pain. I am not totally reliant on crutches, either; I can limp around a bit, which is very helpful in carrying stuff from room to room. But no big plans for the night, other than to watch the Mariners and the Seahawks and read a bit.

So what’s next?

Back to work on Monday. See Dr. Lo for a follow-up appointment on Wednesday afternoon. I hope to hear then about a rehab schedule. Fortunately, I can do some of the rehab at Swedish’s new Issaquah facility; Dr. Lo is moving his Eastside office there beginning Sept. 1.

He has already told me I could work out on a stationary bike two weeks after the surgery. When can I ride my bicycle again? Will I be able to run again? Can I expect to do the Jingle Bells 5K Run in December? The Resolution Run 5K on Jan. 1? How about the Seattle Marathon Walk in late November?

Or how about one of the Cascade Bicycle Club’s rides later this year, or the Chilly Hilly Bike Ride on Bainbridge Island in February? (I had such fun doing the Tour de Peaks ride last Sunday.)

I know, most of you are thinking that before I start planning my races, rides, and workouts, I should just let it heal, let it heal, let it heal. And I will.

Just eager to get back in the saddle, and until then, dreading getting back on the scale!

Till next time.

About monteenbysk

I am not an elite runner or bicyclist, though I am friends with many. I run, walk, and bike for fun and the health benefits. I can get you to the finish but probably not to the Boston Marathon (and especially not to the Tour de France).
This entry was posted in 5K, Bicycling, Jingle Bell Run, Marathons, Resolution Run 5K, Running, Seattle Marathon, Tour de Peaks, Uncategorized, Walking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to So I had my ankle surgery — what’s next?

  1. Pingback: I’m baack — and training for a big bike ride Oct. 8 | Monte's running commentary

  2. Pingback: 7 differences between bicycle and running events (beyond the obvious) | Monte's running commentary

  3. Pingback: Walking again … running soon? | Monte's running commentary

  4. Pingback: My first 5K (walk) since the surgery is Sunday: Can I beat anyone? | Monte's running commentary

  5. Pingback: Gee, I did a 5K walk in under an hour (progress!) | Monte's running commentary

  6. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Dash 5K: My first post-surgery running is slow and careful | Monte's running commentary

  7. Pingback: Tour de Peaks 2012: First century feels a lot like first marathon | Monte's running commentary

  8. Pingback: Training for a marathon walk is super exciting — NOT! | Monte's running commentary

  9. Pingback: Seattle Marathon: Three cheers for my ankle holding up! | Monte's running commentary

  10. Pingback: The Zombie Run Seattle 2013: Welcome to the new generation of road runs | Monte's running commentary

  11. Pingback: 2013 Seattle Half Marathon: Half the euphoria (and pain) of doing a marathon | Monte's running commentary

  12. Pingback: 2014 Resolution Run 5K: New year starts with a post-surgery PR | Monte's running commentary

  13. Pingback: 2014 Mercer Island Half-Marathon: Running hard but hardly running | Monte's running commentary

  14. Pingback: 2014 Bellevue 10K Run: A chance to get reacquainted with the 10K | Monte's running commentary

  15. Pingback: 2014 Seattle Half Marathon: Should I walk the walk? | Monte's running commentary

  16. Pingback: 2015 St. Patrick’s Day Dash: First of two March Madness runs | Monte's running commentary

  17. Pingback: 2015 Mercer Island Half-Marathon: I walked the talk and ran the Run | Monte's running commentary

  18. Pingback: 2015 Issaquah Run with the Fishes 5K: Popular run that organizers would like to keep small | Monte's running commentary

  19. Pingback: 2015 Seattle Half-Marathon: Boy, I needed that chicken soup | Monte's running commentary

  20. Pingback: 2016 Mercer Island Half-Marathon: Modest improvement but still back of the pack | Monte's running commentary

  21. Pingback: 2016 Washington Beer Run 5K: Perfect excuse to drink beer on Father’s Day | Monte's running commentary

  22. Pingback: 2016 Lake Union 10K: Fun run that includes a post-race breakfast | Monte's running commentary

  23. Pingback: 2016 Labor Day Half-Marathon: Leg cramps and all, I conquer race No. 200 | Monte's running commentary

  24. Pingback: 2016 Jingle Bell Run 5K: Merry high before the Seahawks’ low point | Monte's running commentary

  25. Pingback: 2017 Washington Beer Run 5K: The slackers’ alternative? | Monte's running commentary

  26. Pingback: 2017 Redmond Derby Dash 5K: After-work run a good stress reliever | Monte's running commentary

  27. Pingback: 2017 Seafair Torchlight 8K Run: My last hurrah? | Monte's running commentary

Leave a Reply

