Eager to be able to run again

Greetings. This is a continuation of my running blog that began last year on Crosscut.com as I was training for the Seattle Marathon. I was hurt then, but able to run.

I am hurt now, and am barely able to run, but tired of the pain and potential destruction of the ligaments in my left ankle. In late April, I aggravated an ankle that I fractured more than 30 years ago in a car accident, but still have managed to run two marathons, a 10K, 8K, three 5Ks, and a relay race on it.

But I am increasingly weary of the throbbing after each and every run, so I am taking a break of a couple of weeks or so.

Before I talk further about my injury, let me tell you about why I am qualified to write about running. I am qualified because I can write — that’s all. I am slow runner getting slower.

Here is my resume:

  • 19 marathons (hoping to do No. 20 this fall)
  • 26 half-marathons
  • 127 total races since 2001 (admittedly including more than 40 5Ks)

Here are my PRs:

  • 5K: 24.32 (Bumble Bee Fun Run in San Diego, 2005; a straight, flat course, with my brother chasing me)
  • 8K: 43:00 (Seattle Torchlight Run, 2007; got robbed a few seconds by the timer)
  • 10K: 51:44 (Dawg Dash, 2004)
  • 12K: 1:06:55 (12Ks of Christmas in Kirkland, 2005; closest I will ever come to an hour)
  • 10 miles: 1:44:07 (Redmond Watershed Preserve Trail Run in 2008; only 10-miler, or trail run, I’ve ever done)
  • Half-marathon: 1:55:33 (Virginia Mason Team Medicine Half-Marathon in Bellevue, 2004; this race doesn’t exist now)
  • Marathon: 4:29:46 (Victoria, B.C., Marathon, 2005; came 10 seconds from beating this at Eugene Marathon in 2007).

I began running seriously around 1996 and started doing races in 2001. As you can, most of my best times came in 2004 and 2005. As time goes on, I get further and further away from my PRs.

But I seem to enjoy running more and more. The less I worry about my PRs, the more I enjoy doing races, especially marathons. So I run for fun and for the health benefits. I’ve been able to maintain my weight and blood pressure, and reduce my cholesterol, through running.

And there will be a measure of satisfaction when I cross the finish line for marathon No. 20, hopefully this fall in Seattle.

So heal, leg, heal! I am tired of this puffy, sore ankle that has me limping every morning. I am tired of wearing an ankle brace, and feeling like I must walk part of a race just to guarantee finishing.

I will be in much better spirits when this ankle injury has healed. But if you read this blog, or follow me on Twitter or Facebook, you may have deal with my rants about it.

How about you? Are you bothered by an injury that hurts when you run, or keeps you from running? Time to vent to me, so I know I have company.

For the record, I haven’t run since doing the Seattle Torchlight 8K, where I had to stop and walk two or three times, last Saturday, July 31. I am hoping two weeks off of it will help a lot.

Till next time.

About monteenbysk

I am not an elite runner or bicyclist, though I am friends with many. I run, walk, and bike for fun and the health benefits. I can get you to the finish but probably not to the Boston Marathon (and especially not to the Tour de France).
This entry was posted in 5K, Marathons, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Eager to be able to run again

  1. Martha says:

    Monte, I injured my Achilles tendons 16 years ago (running the Boston Marathon). I hurt every morning, and running is mostly very uncomfortable. I commiserate! And wish I were as fast as I used to be (3:36 marathon, 5:32 mile). Keep putting one foot in front of the other…

    • monteenbysk says:

      Martha, you’re a great writer! Didn’t know you were such a good runner too! Sorry about the injury … Sounds like running is no fun for you anymore. Thanks for your comment!

  2. Stuart Glascock says:

    Hey, Monte: Great idea to blog about running. I’m sure you’ll be giving readers some insightful posts. Best wishes on the journey.

    About injury and recovery, you deserve some rest and rehab after all the racing you’ve done. Take some time out. You may be surprised how good you feel when you start another training cycle after some time off — especially from marathons. They deplete your reserves and it takes a little time to rebuild. When you start back up again, add some cross-training do your workout regimen: hit the weight room, ride a bike, shoot some baskets, go swimming, stretch more, take a yoga class. As you know, I’m not a super fast runner, but cross-training has helped me deal with injuries and stay near in the middle of the marathon pack.

  3. Pingback: 2013 Seattle Half Marathon: Half the euphoria (and pain) of doing a marathon | Monte's running commentary

Leave a Reply

